This learning experience encompasses the formal curriculum structured around the nine key learning areas, along with the social, emotional, physical and spiritual development of students through activities and programs within and outside the classroom. Our Curriculum Framework further describes our beliefs, values and aims for each Villanova student.

Key Learning Areas

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • History
  • Digital Technologies
  • The Arts
  • Chinese/Italian
  • Health and Physical Education

Based on sound academic research in both education and psychology, our approaches to Middle School learning meet the specific needs of young adolescent males, including:

  • Identity – addressing identity issues as young men, life-long learners, sons, brothers and Villanovans
  • Relationships – developing productive and affirming relationships with adults and peers in an environment that respects difference and diversity
  • Purpose – developing a sense of purpose, seeing benefits in learning, and having a reason to come to school, go to class and fulfil a task
  • Empowerment – viewing the world critically and acting independently, cooperatively and responsibly, and embracing the freedom to question and to search for meaning
  • Success – having multiple opportunities to learn valued knowledge and skills, taking up opportunities to use talents and expertise brought to the learning environment, and having any success recognised
  • Rigour – taking on realistic learning challenges in an environment characterised by high expectations and constructive and honest feedback
  • Safety – learning in a safe, caring and stimulating environment that actively addresses issues of discrimination and harassment

Subject Selection Guides

Year 10 Studies Guide

Year 9 Studies Guide

Year 8 Studies Guide